Visions of the Sea


Joe Hisaishi

'Encounter' from String Quartet No. 1

Maurice Ravel

'Allegro moderato - Très doux' from String Quartet in F Major

Joe Hisaishi

'Phosphorescent Sea' from String Quartet No. 1

Franz Schubert

'Scherzo. Allegro molto' from Der Tod und das Mädchen

Wim Henderickx

In Deep Silence

Joe Hisaishi

'Metamorphosis' from String Quartet No. 1

Claude Debussy

'Andantino, doucement espressif' from String Quartet

Joe Hisaishi

'Other World' from String Quartet No. 1

Ralph Vaughan Williams

'Epilogue' from String Quartet No. 2 in A Minor

With ‘Visions of the Sea’, boho4 wants to take the listener on a musical journey of beauty, discovery and wonder - all inspired by the beauty of the ocean. 

Throughout our history, we as humans have been fascinated by the pull of the oceans. It fed our sense of wonder and adventure, it captured our economic interests, and it ultimately also led us to realize the devastating impact of our actions.

Joe Hisaishi's colorful and deeply moving String Quartet No. 1 plays the role of the ocean in this program. In four movements this quartet tells the story of our interaction with and impact on the world's oceans. The selected movements by Ravel, Schubert, Henderickx, Debussy and Vaughan Williams, serve as our personal contemplations on the impact of our actions, ultimately pushing us to take action to preserve the beauty and resources of our planet's lifeline.